The Petrified Woods - An Outdoor Exhibition - The Robert M. Linsley Geology Museum

By Geology Department

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

+ 10 dates

  • Wednesday, May 18, 2022
  • Thursday, May 19, 2022
  • Friday, May 20, 2022
  • Saturday, May 21, 2022
  • Sunday, May 22, 2022
  • Monday, May 23, 2022
  • Tuesday, May 24, 2022
  • Wednesday, May 25, 2022
  • Thursday, May 26, 2022
  • Friday, May 27, 2022

1819 Oak Dr, Hamilton, NY 13346, USA

View map Add to calendar

Take a stroll back through time along the edge of The Petrified Woods, an outdoor exhibition of beautifully preserved fossilized wood from trees that grew in the ancient forests of Madagascar, Indonesia and Arizona. These forests date back in earth history to more than 220 million years ago – to Triassic time, the beginning of the age of the dinosaurs. One specimen in the exhibit (on loan from the New York State Museum) is the fossil remains of one of the first trees to grow on earth, in one of the oldest forests on earth – the Gilboa Forest – dating back an astounding 385 million years. Come any time of the day, but the colors are particularly vibrant toward late afternoon, when the sun is low in the sky.

The outdoor exhibition is located adjacent to the stairway leading down from the O’Connor Campus Center (the “Coop”) to the front entrance of the Robert H.N. Ho Science Center.

Support for the exhibition was provided by the J.H. TenEyck Burr and the Mortimer C. Howe Endowment Funds.

Event Details

+ 1 People interested in event

User Activity

No recent activity

Colgate Calendar Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved