Exhibition: A Wicked Commerce: The US and the Atlantic Slave Trade through the Lens of William Earle Williams

By Picker Art Gallery

Thursday, March 23, 2023

+ 10 dates

  • Friday, March 24, 2023
  • Sunday, March 26, 2023
  • Tuesday, March 28, 2023
  • Wednesday, March 29, 2023
  • Thursday, March 30, 2023
  • Friday, March 31, 2023
  • Sunday, April 2, 2023
  • Tuesday, April 4, 2023
  • Wednesday, April 5, 2023
  • Thursday, April 6, 2023
Picker Art Gallery, 2nd floor, Dana Arts Center View map
View map Add to calendar

Philadelphia-area artist William Earle Williams (b.1950) uses his camera to expose the obscured histories of chattel slavery in the US and transform how everyday places are understood and experienced. His most recent body of work examines this history within a global context and how the development, growth, and malevolent persistence of slavery intersects within Great Britain, the US, and the British West Indies.

A Wicked Commerce presents Williams’s examination of the transatlantic slave trade in forty- three photographs, many exhibited for the first time. Featuring sites in British port cities, Caribbean islands, and the US—south and north—these pictures reveal the infrastructures that fueled the triangular trade and positioned Britain and the US as industrial powers, simultaneously creating an institution that damaged innumerable lives and continues to persist in their physical and social landscapes.

Event Details

0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity

Colgate Calendar Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved