Eclipse Art by Kristen T. Woodward

By Ho Tung Visualization Laboratory

Monday, March 11, 2024

+ 10 dates

  • Tuesday, March 12, 2024
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2024
  • Thursday, March 14, 2024
  • Friday, March 15, 2024
  • Saturday, March 16, 2024
  • Sunday, March 17, 2024
  • Monday, March 18, 2024
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2024
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2024
  • Thursday, March 21, 2024

1819 Oak Dr, Hamilton, NY 13346, USA

#totalsolareclipse
View map Add to calendar

In 2017 I was able to witness a total solar eclipse in Knoxville, Tennessee, and was moved by the dramatic planetary display. I’m looking forward to viewing another eclipse in my hometown of Webster, New York in April, as we will be in that exquisite path of totality. I marvel at how science has allowed us to countdown the minutes while other events in our lives appear random and chaotic. The experience leaves one to ponder what is pre-ordained. By including images inspired by solar eclipse, my encaustic paintings intend to capture this conflict and visual tension between chaos and natural order.

 

Kristen T. Woodward received her BFA in Printmaking from Syracuse University, and her MFA in Studio Art from Clemson University.  Her zoomorphic paintings combine encaustic and print processes, and often utilize found collage materials.  Woodward is currently a Professor in the Department of Art & Art History at Albright College, teaching drawing, painting, printmaking, and gender and the visual arts. Currently, she is collaborating with an environmental biologist to explore tropical ecosystems in Costa Rica.  Woodward serves as is Resident Curator for the online site Artists2Artists.

 

 

Event Details

0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity

Colgate Calendar Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved