Beyond the Beat: Explorations in Music and Culture

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

+ 10 dates

  • Wednesday, August 10, 2022
  • Thursday, August 11, 2022
  • Friday, August 12, 2022
  • Sunday, August 14, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 16, 2022
  • Wednesday, August 17, 2022
  • Thursday, August 18, 2022
  • Friday, August 19, 2022
  • Sunday, August 21, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Alumni Hall, Longyear Gallery, Second floor View map
View map Add to calendar

This exhibition features historic and contemporary works from the Longyear Museum of Anthropology and Picker Art Gallery from Africa, Latin America, and around the world. These collections, together with loans from the student curators, and interviews from individuals around campus, serve as a celebration of music around the world and in our community here at Colgate. This exhibition was curated by nine students during the Museum Curating class (MUSE 300) during the fall of 2021. From concept to research, design and label-writing, to interviews and installation, the students played a role at every step of the process.

Stop by the gallery (Alumni Hall, 2nd floor) to engage with our music stories and add to our community playlist!

Gallery Hours: 

Tuesday-Friday 9:30am-4:30pm

Sunday- 11:30am-4:30pm

*Closed during academic breaks*

Event Details

3 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity

Colgate Calendar Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved